

# TWO RIVERS 2012 ABR Illinois Road Race Championship



Sunday, August 5, 2012 Aroma Park, Kankakee County, Illinois Points awarded to TOI/W & ROTY

18 mile course of flat to rolling course roads with some long inclines, a few S-curves, places to hide a breakaway and 8 corners. Of course there was wind and summer 80-degree heat that worked on the racers.

Two Rivers Bicycle Tour (Two Rivers Race used only 18mile loop) was held same day from Kankakee, provided most of the spectators, although many people in cars were stopping to watch and asked the two corner marshals if this was a "real" bicycle road race. (4ft by 5ft Caution Bicycle Race signs were placed on road shoulder just outside of course warning all vehicles) Both the tour riders and vehicles passengers watched the racers and awed at the racers speed. The lead vehicle for each race finish did an excellent job stopping oncoming traffic for the riders sprint finish.

Appears to me that the 30 & 40 age group racers need one more lap to break up the field to make the endurance riders shine through.

The last 11/2 laps of the Open category race blew them apart.

Thanks to the residents of River Run, Aroma Park, Kankakee County, IL. We hope you enjoyed the event.

#### Congratulations to the top riders and especially the Champions.

	Junior - one lap 18 miles									
Place	Overall Place	#	Name		Club	State	TOI/W – ROTY Points			
Champion 15- 18	1	455	Bryan	Froehlicher	Smart Cycles	IL	10			
Champion 10- 14	4	470	Maxx	Hall	Village-Verdigris	IL	8			
2	12	456	Zachary	Rosenstiehl	SCW	IL	7			
3	13	454	Peter	Swinand	BICO	IL	6			

Juniors and Category raced together in their one lap 18 mile road race. Two Juniors place in top 5.

Category 5 – one lap 18 miles									
Place	Overall Place	#	Name	Name	Club	State			
Champion	2	469	Tim	Gehr	Unattached	IL			
2	3	473	Brad	Beetham	Sammy's	IL			
3	5	453	Jon	Labok	2 Bici Racing	IL			
4	6	467	Adam	Jurczak	2 Bici Racing	IL			
5	7	471	John	Merlock	Unattached	IL			
6	8	474	Chris	Russelburg	Unattached	IL			
7	9	472	Lisa	Knaggs	Unattached	IL			
8	10	452	Joel	Hukill	2 Bici Racing	IL			
9	11	468	Matt	Rektorski	Unattached	IL			

#### Master 60, 65, 70, 75 raced together in their two lap 36 mile race. The racing was tough, competition great, bunch sprint was tight.

Technical Rules Committee has decided to regulate and disqualify some riders for Centerline rule infraction. Centerline Rule was in effect, Official reminded riders of the rule at start line, roaming Official gave 5 warnings to this group.

					Master 60		<u> </u>	•
Place	Overall Place	Note	#	Name		Club	State	TOI/W – ROTY Points
Champion	1		818	Tim	Clark	W 2 Racing	IL	12
2	2		821	Ziggy	Demel	Pact DishNetwork	IL	10
3	3		814	Mike	Rummelhart	Team Mack	IL	8
4	4		822	Richard	Kreutzfeldt	PACT DishNetwork	IL	7
5	5		820	Marian	Kielar	PACT DishNetwork	IL	6
6	6		804	Brad	Reid	Bloomington	IL	3
7	7		713	Byron	Morrison	Unattached	IL	5
8	10		810	Al	Stern	VCR	IL	4
9	12	Regulated	<sup>d</sup> 808	Russ	Damhoff	Freeport Cycle	IL	2
10	13	Regulated	<sup>d</sup> 815	Mike	Kurtz	US Army	IL	1
11	14	Regulated	<sup>d</sup> 813	Randall	Ray	Peoria Bike	IL	0
		Disqualifie	<sup>ed</sup> 811	John	Craychee	Bicycle Heaven	IL	0
		Disqualifie	025	Walter	Stoops	ABD	IL	0
		Disqualifie	<sup>ed</sup> 806	James	Scheckel	xXx Racing	IL	0
		Disqualifie	<sup>ed</sup> 824	Login	Kusal	Unattached	IL	0
					Master 65			
Place	Overall Place	Note	#		Name	Club	State	TOI/W – ROTY Points
Champion	8		805	Bill	Kallas	ABD	IL	10
		Disqualifie		Dennis	Jurs	Team Mack	IL	0
		Disqualifie	<sup>ed</sup> 809	Victor	Alcazar	Chicago Police	IL	0
					Master 70			
Place	Overall Place	Note	#	Name		Club	State	TOI/W – ROTY Points
1	9	1-day	812	Terry	Clark	Belmont	IL	10
2	15	Regulated	007	Stephen	Ballou	xXx Racing	WI	8
		Disqualifie	<sup>ed</sup> 816	Robert	Burns	Team Mack	IL	0
					Master 75		_	
Place	Overall Place		Name			Club	State	TOI/W – ROTY Points
Champion	11	819 0	Gerald		Beam	ABD	IL	10

	Women Master 40, 50, 60, 70+										
	raced together in their two lap 36 mile race										
Place	Overall # Name Club State TOI/W										
	Place						Points				
Champion	1	466	Marilyn	Powell	Project 5 Racing	IL	10				
40+											
Champion	2	465	Becky	Smith	Wheelfast	IL	10				
50+											
Champion	3	457	Marsha	Ray	Peoria Bike	IL	10				
60+											
Champion	4	459	Pat	Beam	ABD	IL	10				
70+											

				Master 50			
Master 50 &	k 55+ raced	togethe		54 mile race. Orlandi, l led in a sprint well ahea	Lowe, Kerr and Doughty n d of the pack.	nade a break	away stick and
Place	Overall Place	#	Name		Club	State	TOI/W – ROTY Points
Champion		729	Fabio	Orlandi	РҮОС	IL	25
2		726	Don	Lowe	Team Mack	IL	22
3		716	Jerzy	Trzeciak	Plus Cycling	IL	20
4		712	Ed	Ekstrom	Tower Racing	IL	19
5		721	David	Keire	Velo Force	MS	18
6		714	Phil	Painter	Tower Racing	IL	17
7		707	Anthony	Meadors	EMC2	IL	16
8		715	Anthony	Kassel	Tower Racing	IL	15
9		722	Don	Isaacs	Bicycle Heaven	IL	14
10		709	George	Lambros	Flatlandia	IL	13
11		710	Brian	Nash	Psimet	IL	12
dnf		718	Bob	Marshall	ABD	IL	0
dnf		706	Todd	Lemmon	Vision Quest	IL	0
				Master 55			
Place	Overall Place	#	Name		Club	State	TOI/W – ROTY Points
Champion		717	Andy	Kerr	Bicycle Heaven	IL	25
2		727	Tom	Doughty	Scarlet fire	IL	22
3		725	Jon	Lafontant	PYOC	IL	20
4		708	Stan	Watkins	Vision Quest	IL	19
5		724	David	McClenahan	РҮОС	IL	18
6		719	Bob	Berg	Tower Racing	IL	17
7		711	Fran	Connelly	Tower Racing	IL	16
8		720	Mike	Vonnahmen	ММСТ	IL	15
9		723	Robert	Hawco	ABD	IL	14

### Master 30 & 40 raced together in their 3 lap 54 mile race

	Master 30									
Place	Overall Place	#	Name		Club	State	TOI/W – ROTY Points			
Champion	1	310	James	Flora	SCW	IL	25			
2	4	312	Marc	O'Shea	Unattached	IL	22			
3	7	311	Frank	Rowley	SCW	IL	20			
4	8	317	Doug	VanderMolen	Tower Racing	IL	19			
5	18	309	Dan	Dodson	W2 Racing	IL	18			
	Master 40									
Place	Overall Place	#	Name		Club	State	TOI/W – ROTY Points			
Champion	2	330	Todd	Metz	Team Apache	IL	25			
2	3	328	Matias	Mendigochea	La Grange	CA	22			
3	5	325	James	Sneddon	Psimet	IL	20			
4	6	320	Pat	McNally	RD	IL	19			
5	9	318	James	Kime	EMC2	IL	18			
6	10	324	Bernie	Hosey	Tower Racing	IL	17			
7	11	313	Don	Hanke	Tower Racing	IL	16			
8	12	326	Delfino	Parra	Higher Gear	IL	15			

9	13	319	Bryan	Cleal	Psimet	IL	14
10	14	157	John	Shay	Tower Racing	IL	13
11	15	308	Mark	Misicko	Tower Racing	IL	12
12	16	316	Charles	Tallard	Tower Racing	IL	11
13	17	315	Anthony	Cacchillo	Tower Racing	IL	10
Dnf		322	Michael	Junius	Tower Racing	IL	
		314	Guillermo	Herrera	Flatlandia	IL	
		321	Tom	McNulty	Tower Racing	IL	
		323	James	Cor	Tower Racing	IL	
Dnf		327	Uwe	Krueger	Team Get A Grip	IL	
		329	Jim	Lund	ABD	IL	
		306	Ken	Hoepker	Bloomington	IL	
Dnf		307	Mases	Mousessian	Spin Doctor	IL	

## Men & Women Open category 1,2,3,4 raced together 4 laps 72 miles

				Men Open (1,2,	3,4)		
Place	Overall Place	#	Name		Club	State	TOI/W – ROTY Points
Champion	1	80	Sean	Metz	Sammy's	IL	25
2	2	64	Marc	Moeller	Bicycle Heaven	IL	22
		53	Paul	Swinand	Bicicletta	IL	
	Dnf	88	John	Angelatos	Unattached	IL	
				Category 3	·		
Place	Overall Place	#	Name		Club	State	TOI/W – ROTY Points
1	3	153	Jason	Senffner	Psimet	IL	25
2	6	144	David	Ross	Bicycle Heaven	IL	22
3	7	154	Joe	Berenyi	ABD	IL	20
4	8	156	Ben	Arfmann	ABD	IL	19
5	11	151	Scott	Bowden	Bicycle Heaven	IL	18
6	12	147	Matthew	Haiduk	Bicycle heaven	IL	17
7	13	158	Chris	Dial	Unattached	IL	16
		149	Bryan	Fuller	Bicycle Heaven	IL	
				Category 4			
Place	Overall Place	#	Name		Club	State	TOI/W – ROTY Points
Champion	4	155	Aaron	Hampton	Psimet	IL	25
2	5	145	Pat	White	Unattached	IL	22
3	9	152	Jack	Arnolde	Team Got Wind?	IL	20
4	10	159	Michael	Schmalandt	Castelli	IL	19
		146	James	Reineking	Bicycle Heaven	IL	
		148	Jason	Lynch	Bicycle Heaven	IL	
				Women Ope	n		
Place	Overall Place	#	Name		Club	State	TOI/W – ROTY Points
Champion	14	458	Katie	Isermann	Psimet	IL	12

Questions on results: abrlund@aol.com